I dreamed of a book …

A few weeks ago, I woke up with the idea for a book. The idea was literally the stuff of dreams. In my dream, it was an edited volume with Bess Sadler and I as co-editors. The book’s title was A Radical Agenda for America’s* Libraries.

Today, Bess and I scribbled out a preliminary list of chapters. I’m starting to really think that this book needs to happen. It isn’t hard to think of the perfect authors for some of these chapters:

  1. Radical professional education
  2. Radical collecting
  3. Radical reference
  4. Radical archives
  5. Radical preservation
  6. Radical publishing
  7. Radical leadership
  8. Radical metadata
  9. Radical access
  10. Radical technology
  11. Radical services
  12. Radical collaborations
  13. Radical funding
  14. Radical outreach
  15. Radical spaces

(* Why “America’s”? Partly because American libraries are what I know, partly because I think national context matters significantly, and partly because it was a dream, and my dream life is apparently very ethnocentric.)

7 Responses to “I dreamed of a book …”


  1. 1 Jean Amaral September 8, 2013 at 4:07 am

    Yes! It’s been 10 years since Revolting Librarians Redux. It’s time.

    Like

  2. 2 emily August 30, 2013 at 6:09 pm

    Go independent! Go with Library Juice Press!

    Like

  3. 4 Deborah Jakubs August 30, 2013 at 6:09 pm

    Remember there are two “Americas” — North and South.

    Like

  4. 6 Carl Hess (@CarlSHess) August 30, 2013 at 5:44 pm

    Well, it would have been more ethnocentric to title it A Radical Agenda for Libraries and then make it only about America’s libraries.

    Like


Leave a Comment