daddy issues: a playlist

Fathers Day (and Mothers Day) is complicated for lots of people. This is a short playlist of songs with lyrics that touch on daddy issues of varying kinds. This is obviously not a feel-good list of songs about daddies. Use the comments to add your own songs that speak to daddy issues in less than conventional ways.

  • Graceland, Paul Simon
    • Only the greatest song about a father-son roadtrip ever written
  • A boy named Sue, Johnny Cash
    • “Well what could I do? What could I do?
      I got all choked up and I threw down my gun
      And I called him my paw, and he called me his son
      And I came away with a different point of view”
  • Maggie’s Farm, obligatory Bob Dylan tune
    • “I ain’t gonna work for Maggie’s pa no more
      No, I ain’t gonna work for Maggie’s pa no more
      Well, he puts his cigar
      Out in your face just for kicks
      His bedroom window
      It is made out of bricks
      The National Guard stands around his door
      Ah, I ain’t gonna work for Maggie’s pa no more.”
  • Enough of Me, Melissa Etheridge
    • “We were all wounded in some domestic war
      I found you to settle my score
      You looked like father
      You felt like mother”
  • The Wrong Thing to Do, Mudcrutch
    • “Well my mamma loved me
      But my daddy don’t
      I’m tryin’ to work it all out
      But I probably won’t”

2 Responses to “daddy issues: a playlist”


  1. 1 Nancy Relaford June 19, 2016 at 1:56 pm

    Less spectacular but at least as deserving…

    Dolly Parton/Emmylou Harris, To Daddy (“If she did, she never did say so to Daddy”)

    John Prine, Sam Stone (“There’s a hole in Daddy’s arm / where all the money goes”)

    Like

  2. 2 Nancy Relaford June 19, 2016 at 12:34 pm

    Great list! I nominate Martha Wainwright, Bloody Mother Fucking Asshole

    Bloody Mother Fucking Asshole was inspired by Wainwright’s father, Loudon Wainwright III. She wrote the track as a response to her father’s way of writing songs about his family, rather than tending to them.[1][2]
    https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bloody_Mother_Fucking_Asshole

    https://www.theguardian.com/music/2005/mar/18/marthawainwright.popandrock

    Like


Leave a Comment

Enter your email address to follow Feral Librarian by email.

Join 7,282 other followers

Follow me on Twitter


