Rivers: a playlist

My daily view of the Charles River

My daily view of the Charles River


I live by a river now, and some dear friends just had a new baby named River, so I made a playlist of songs in my library with “river” in the song title. Not a bad set of tunes:

Big River Johnny Cash
Blood Red River Beth Orton
Bottom of the River Delta Rae
Buffalo River Home John Hiatt
Come To The River The Jayhawks
Crystal River Mudcrutch (Tom Petty’s jam band)
Down By the River Neil Young
Drank Like A River Whiskeytown
Ev’ry Wind (In The River) Taj Mahal
Going To The River Robbie Robertson & Galactic (Fats Domino cover)
Green River Creedence Clearwater Revival
Harlem River Blues Justin Townes Earle
How Deep Is That River Mason Jennings
In The Mississippi River Mavis Staples
Kaskaskia River Sufjan Stevens Sufjan Stevens
Let The River Run Carly Simon
The Lonesome River Bob Dylan Feat. Ralph Stanley
Meeting Across the River Bruce Springsteen
Moody River John Fogerty
Red River Shore Bob Dylan
Ride Across The River Dire Straits
Ride The River J.J. Cale & Eric Clapton
River Indigo Girls (gorgeous cover of Joni Mitchell classic)
River Joni Mitchell
River Man Nick Drake
River Song Tom Rush
River’s Invitation The James Cotton Blues Band
Riverman Andrew Duhon
The Rivers Of Babylon [Live] Steve Earle and Emmylou Harris (magical – trust me)
Two Rivers Jeff Beck

Some notes:

  • Glen Worthey once commented that most of my playlists include some lesser-known Dylan tune. I guess Lonesome River qualifies.
  • If you have never listened to the Steve Earle/Emmylou Harris version of Rivers of Babylon, do it now. Thank me later.
  • I discovered Andrew Duhon in a small club in New Orleans several years ago. If you like singer-songwriters who straddle the folk/country/blues borders, you’ll dig this guy.
  • I was surprised there’s no Lucinda on this list. She sings about rivers, just never put “river” in a song title I guess.

5 Responses to “Rivers: a playlist”


  1. 1 Glen Worthey (@gworthey) August 24, 2015 at 4:06 pm

    Lonesome River for sure qualifies as lesser-known Dylan — but your other obscure Dylan contribution, Red River Shore, also qualifies, and is so, so beautiful… with that inimitable Bob sort of beauty, of course. Nobody does obscure Dylan like you do, CB! Great list.

    (Oh, and that’s a pretty nice river view you got there, too… I guess when push comes to shove, it’s an okay trade for the old Bing Wing breezeway that you used to gaze out upon…. Or was the breezeway gazing in at you? Yeah, that’s probly a little more accurate.)

    Like

  2. 2 Susan Raidy-Klein August 24, 2015 at 7:36 am

    Since I always wanted to be Tina Turner, I can’t forget River Wide, Mountain So Deep ..She inspired me to put on my boots and become a go go girl!B-)

    Susan

    Susan Raidy-Klein Collection Development & Acquisition Librarian University of Massachusetts Dartmouth 285 Old Westport Road N. Dartmouth, MA 02747 sraidyklein@umassd.edu 508-999-8666

    Like

  3. 3 jessicarolin August 23, 2015 at 8:43 am

    TOM RUSH! I almost never tell anyone this, since people don’t seem to know who he is, but the first concert I ever attended when I was a wee little thing and tagging along with my parents was Tom Rush. I have 3 or 4 of his albums on vinyl from my mother.

    Like

  4. 4 kmty August 22, 2015 at 1:43 pm

    You forgot Billy Joel.

    Like


Leave a Comment

Enter your email address to follow Feral Librarian by email.

Join 7,282 other followers

Follow me on Twitter


