my queer butch playlist

My buddy ButchWonders recently posted 20 Songs that Make Me Feel Butch, and it is a great list … but nothing really resonated.

She challenged me to come up with my own list, and I came up with a few before I realized something important. Ever since I got my truck, which is where I listen to most of my music these days, every song makes me feel butch. When I’m driving along in my pick-up truck, looking like I do … I could be singing along to The Spice Girls* and I’d still feel butch.

That said, there are some songs that are queer/butch/genderqueer anthems for me:

The entire Transgender Dysphoria Blues CD by Against Me! is in a class by itself on this list, with the title cut and Black Me Out as my 2 favorites.

The rest in no particular order:

LucyStoners by Amy Ray
Lola by The Kinks
Turn the Page by Bob Seger
Dude Looks like a Lady by Aerosmith
King for a Day by Green Day
Walk on the Wild Side by Lou Reed
Rebel, Rebel by David Bowie
Androgynous by Joan Jett and the Blackhearts

Other great genderqueer song suggestions most welcome.

(* Thanks to Suzy for The Spice Girls suggestion)

5 Responses to “my queer butch playlist”


  1. 1 walkingthewalls {jdemanda} September 18, 2014 at 1:40 am

    Wrong Bathroom by Tribe 8

    Paper Doll by Tina & the B-sides

    Like

  2. 2 alesbianspeaks September 14, 2014 at 9:38 am

    Thanks a lot for sharing your list. It’s great!

    Like

  3. 3 Jamie Ray September 5, 2014 at 5:46 pm

    Great list. I’d add Patti Smith singing Gloria (Jesus died for somebody’s sins but not mine).

    Like

  4. 5 Anonymous September 5, 2014 at 3:55 pm

    drive – melissa ferrick
    hey little sister – meat purveyors
    i’ll stand by you – the pretenders

    Like


Leave a Comment

Enter your email address to follow Feral Librarian by email.

Join 7,281 other followers

Follow me on Twitter


