Jobs for new MLS’s

I have written about how and why I value a subject PhD for some library jobs, and I have been known to get defensive when librarians question the commitment or values or whatever of non-MLS holding librarians.
At the same time (I am large, I contain multitudes), I think it is important that newly minted MLS’s have decent job opportunities. So I’ve worked hard over the last year to convert 2 jobs into entry-level librarian jobs, ideally suited for new MLS’s and/or early career librarians.

Note that Stanford Libraries “is committed to recruiting and hiring qualified women, minorities, protected veterans and individuals with disabilities.” Personally, I am committed to creating opportunities for librarians from groups who are underrepresented in librarianship.

I know 2 jobs make only a tiny dent in the problem of a severe job shortage for entry-level librarians, but it is a start, and it will make a difference for at least 2 librarians. Please help me spread the word about these 2 opportunities, and feel free to contact me if you want more information and/or are interested in applying.

2 Responses to “Jobs for new MLS’s”


  1. 1 http://jesterqueen.com July 17, 2014 at 8:48 pm

    When I was an entry level librarian (in 2002), I would have applied for these jobs. I hope your dedication translates into other libraries taking similar steps. I don’t work in the library field anymore, largely because I couldn’t find a job that matched my training and needs. As you said, this doesn’t solve the problem, but it’s a damned good idea.

    Like

  2. 2 Elspeth July 17, 2014 at 4:22 pm

    Definitely interested in applying – I worked for Special Collections at Stanford for several years as a student, and got my MLIS last year. Job market’s even rougher than I expected! Got any tips? I would love, love, love to come back to Stanford in either of these positions.

    Like


Leave a Comment

