My 2012 Music Round-up

I added an even 10 albums to my music collection in 2012. Looking over the list, most of my new music is not really “new” — just new to me. I took care of some gaping holes in my collection (Willie, Bob Seger, Doobie Brothers, and Some Girls), picked up new albums by some old favorites (Cohen, Emmylou, the Jayhawks), and added new takes on some classics (Lost Notebooks and Chimes of Freedom).

Red Headed Stranger and Chimes of Freedom got the most play, with Chickenfoot getting the least. Clearly I was in more of a country/folk mood in 2012 than a rock mood.

  • Nine Tonight (Live): Bob Seger & the Silver Bullet Band
    When I realized that I did not have “Night Moves” in my music collection, I immediately downloaded this entire CD.
  • Chickenfoot III: Chickenfoot
    Chickenfoot is Sammy Haggar, Michael Anthony (both from Van Halen), Joe Satriani, and Chad Smith from Red Hot Chili Peppers. They rock … literally.
  • Best of the Doobies:The Doobie Brothers
    “Black Water” is one of my all time favorite feel-good songs, and I am embarrassed to admit that I had no Doobie Brothers in my collection until this year.
  • Chimes of Freedom: The songs of Bob Dylan, Honoring 50 years of Amnesty International
    This is a massive 4-disc collection of new versions of Dylan classics (and some lesser known gems) by some great artists. Some of my favorites are One More Cup of Coffee (Steve Earle & Lucia Micarelli), Property of Jesus (Sinéad O’Connor), and K$sha sobbing through Don’t Think Twice.
  • Old Ideas: Leonard Cohen
    This album opens with the line “I’d love to speak with Leonard, he’s a sportsman and a shepherd.”, and it just keeps getting better from there.
  • Red Headed Stranger: Willie Nelson
    Can’t believe I only added this classic to my collection this year. Listened to it over and over again for weeks.
  • Hard Bargain:Emmylou Harris
    Not her best, but even mediocre Emmylou is better than most.
  • The Lost Notebooks of Hank Williams
    Jack White and Jakob Dylan are my favorites on this set of songs created from the unfinished handwritten lyrics Hank left behind.
  • Mockingbird Time:The Jayhawks
    I haven’t listened to this one enough.
  • Some Girls (Deluxe Edition):The Rolling Stones
    Listening to this classic Stones album reminds me that those guys had a way with lyrics. Good stuff.

0 Responses to “My 2012 Music Round-up”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Comment

