Gone Reading, gender and librarians

This is the first time I have done a blog post that could be construed as a commercial endorsement, but I hope you will agree that the circumstances are pretty interesting and compelling.

I got an email from Brad Wirz, Founder & CEO of Gone Reading International, LLC asking if I would mention his recent philanthropic startup called Gone Reading International here at Feral Librarian. I don’t get too many of these sorts of requests, and I needed a diversion from some onerous work tasks, so I went over to the site and poked around. I like their mission:

We market a line of interesting products for book lovers, and donate 100% of the after-tax profits to provide new funding for libraries.

The site is well-designed and organized, and has some cool products and good content. The Gone Reading blog has content that is likely to be of interest to some of my readers as well.

But, when I clicked on the Gifts for a Librarian section, I was troubled to see only Women’s t-shirts. So, I wrote back to Brad and said:

Tell ya what — I will mention GoneReading in a blog post, if/when you add some t-shirts for men to your Libraries and Librarian collection. We wouldn’t want to perpetuate any tired old librarian stereotypes, would we?

Well, within the hour, two of Gone Reading’s awesome Men’s t-shirts were listed in the Gifts for a Librarian section. So, if you are a librarian of the male persuasion, or if you know one, or if (like me) you prefer the fit of men’s t-shirts, or if you’re as pleased as I am at Brad’s quick response; please head over to Gone Reading and see if there is something there for you. Remember, it is for a very good cause.

1 Response to “Gone Reading, gender and librarians”



  1. 1 The Maddest Librarians | Feral Librarian Trackback on April 4, 2012 at 9:36 am

Leave a Comment

Enter your email address to follow Feral Librarian by email.

Join 8,064 other followers

Follow me on Twitter


