A personal note on the repeal of DADT

I posted an early version of this on Facebook back in December when the official announcement was made that Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell would be repealed. It may seem off-topic for this blog, but I figure y’all can deal.

In the early days of DADT, I was an active-duty Captain on the faculty at West Point. I had the honor of knowing cadets with the courage and integrity to reject the inherent hypocrisy of a policy that required them to lie. Some of them were kicked out of the academy for abiding by the Cadet Honor Code (“A cadet will not lie, cheat, or steal.”). Some were punished for telling the truth. Watching them struggle do the right thing in an impossible situation (and at an impossibly young age), gave me the courage to finally be honest with myself about my own sexuality. I’m sadly not in touch with any of them anymore, but I think of them often and their courage, integrity, and strength continue to inspire me. Jenn, Holly, Megan, and the kid with the secret tongue piercing whose name I forget (and many others)– today is your day. Thank you.

0 Responses to “A personal note on the repeal of DADT”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Comment

Enter your email address to follow Feral Librarian by email.

Join 7,282 other followers

Follow me on Twitter


