Keep the Yankees out of my book


The NY Times essay, Keep Your Team Out of My Book, is so good that I am willing to overlook the Duke hate:

My revulsion does not end with the Yankees. I also refuse to read books whose characters or authors have any affiliation with the Dallas Cowboys, the Los Angeles Lakers, the Duke University men’s basket­ball team, the University of Southern California football team or Manchester United, the Yankees’ European football evil twin.

My favorite part are the examples of passages deleted from manuscripts by editors who understood the difficulty of marketing characters who are fans of hated teams:

“Maman died today. Or yesterday maybe, I don’t know. I got a telegram from the home: ‘Mother deceased. Funeral tomorrow. Lakers tickets still available.’ ” (“The Stranger”)

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

0 Responses to “Keep the Yankees out of my book”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Comment

