Bridge over Troubled Water is 40

Apparently, Simon & Garfunkel’s Bridge Over Troubled Water album is 40 years old. To celebrate, Art and Paul are going on tour.

From TheROCKradio.com, here is Art’s take on the joys of record-making in the pre-digital era:

“I was so wildly in love with the making of those things. If you think they were fun to buy and collect, you should’ve made one. The day you finish it and then you listen in the control room at the console to your hard work over the many months . . . you have fussed over every detail of every minute of all of the songs, and you go, ‘Okay, there it is,’ and you love it, and then they send you the jacket, and you color approve it. . . the liner notes are done, and you say, ‘Send me a box of 25 copies, so I’ll get ’em before the retailer gets it,’ and you open the box, and there’s your hard work. It’s such a fabulous American invention, the record album.”

I suspect there are plenty of authors who feel the same way about their hard-copy books and print journal articles (I had to get some kind of library-ish tie-in …).

The Boxer will always be my favorite Simon and Garfunkel song. Enjoy:

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

2 Responses to “Bridge over Troubled Water is 40”


  1. 1 Glen W. March 19, 2010 at 11:20 am

    Wow, 40 years old…. Bridge Over Troubled Water was my first favorite record, in that favorite-record way that you listen to it over and over and over through headphones lying on the shag carpet with your eyes closed every day after school and then do the same on Saturday morning.

    As the missing verse of “The Boxer” goes,

    I am older than I once was
    And younger than I’ll be, and that’s not unusual.

    Thanks for the beautiful clip of these two old boxers. The fighters still remain.

    You may not know Bob Dylan’s cover* of “The Boxer,” but it’s well worth a listen. As the perfect embodiment of the whole “self-portrait” idea of the album on which it appears, Dylan sings it as a duet with himself: on one side is the world-weary, raspy-voiced Bob that we’re used to, and on the other side is the country crooner of the “Lay, Lady, Lay” era. (Q: “Bob, what happened to your voice on Nashville Skyline?” A: “I quit smoking for a while.”)

    * And most people don’t know it, because it appears on what many consider not only Dylan’s most unintelligible work, but also the third-worst rock-and-roll album of all time, Self-Portrait. I’m ashamed even to repeat this shallow prejudice, and maintain that the album is simply… misunderstood.

    Like

    • 2 Chris March 19, 2010 at 12:24 pm

      Love it! I did not know that my favorite verse from The Boxer was a missing verse; and I had not seen/heard Dylan’s cover. I love it when I learn important new things via my blog!

      Like


Leave a Comment

