Research is like cooking

Below is a presentation I have been using for over a year now in Information Literacy sessions for Stanford freshmen. Feedback from students has been quite positive:

  • “loved the cooking metaphor”
  • “Great approach to the topic of research. I really liked the food comparison because I could totally relate.”
  • “The powerpoint was great.”

To see the notes for each slide, go to Slideshare.

I would love to hear some feedback, as I continue to tweak this every quarter. And if you like it, feel free to use it … I don’t need attribution, but would love to know if you used it and how.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

4 Responses to “Research is like cooking”


  1. 1 LIZ Cooper June 23, 2009 at 4:27 pm

    HI Chris,
    We met recently at the Frye Institute’s little cocktail party in the Library and talked about reference services at Stanford & Emory. I hadn’t seen your blog until now (Chris Palazzolo shared it with the Emory librarians). I love it and also really like this little cooking/research slideshow. One question: your note above the slideshow says to visit the Slideshare site to see the notes that go with each slide — I went to Slideshare and only saw notes for slide #1. Are there notes for the other slides (I can guess what you said but just thought I would ask)?
    THANKS!
    Liz Cooper (Anthropology & Journalism Librarian, Reference Services Leader, Emory U)

    Like

    • 2 Chris June 23, 2009 at 4:36 pm

      Hi Liz-
      Good to hear from you — I enjoyed our chat at Frye!
      Thanks for commenting, and I’m glad you like the Research/Cooking analogy. I didn’t realize that the Slideshare version is only showing the notes for Slide #1. I’ll send you a copy of the ppt via email; then see if I can figure out why the rest of the notes aren’t showing up in Slideshare!

      Like


  1. 1 Research is like Cooking video « Feral Librarian Trackback on October 14, 2011 at 3:58 pm
  2. 2 Students tell other students “go to the library!” « Feral Librarian Trackback on May 21, 2009 at 2:57 pm

Leave a Comment

