New music goodies

So much great new music available that I had to write about it.

Lucinda Williams’ new CD Little Honey was released yesterday. I got to see her perform several songs from this CD live at the Mountain Winery, and it was simply amazing. Some reviewers are disappointed at the happier, fun vibe of this CD compared to Lucinda’s other offerings (notably the very melancholy World without Tears). All I can say is that the songs were mesmerizing to hear live, and I am heading out tonight to buy this one.

The latest in the Bob Dylan bootleg series is out too: Tell Tale Signs. Exclusive preview and streaming audio on NPR. From NPR, “Tell Tale Signs covers Dylan’s past 20 years, a period that produced the albums Time Out of Mind, Love and Theft, Modern Times and Oh Mercy.” I love the alternative versions of “Someday Baby” and “Everything is Broken”.

Finally, the new Calexico CD Carried to Dust sounds great. Calexico does this great fusion of folk, rock, mariachi, and other latino and Mexican influences. They recorded In the Reins with another one of my favorites, Iron & Wine. NPR All Songs Considered has some cool videos of live performances from the new CD and some commentary.

0 Responses to “New music goodies”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Enter your email address to follow Feral Librarian by email.

Join 8,963 other followers

Follow me on Twitter

  • RT @clmazin: Removing trans people from the military isn't just a violation of civil rights. This is their JOB. Their livelihood. They supp… 4 minutes ago
  • RT @ddlovato: I just want to tell the transgender community that I love you and you ARE supported no matter what. #ProtectTransTroops 4 minutes ago
  • @tararobertson TRLN which is in NC, but doing it remotely bec NC and bathroom bills = Chris doesn't go to NC 5 minutes ago
  • @morganmundum yes, the timing is a calculated attempt to distract. but/and we need to not treat the impact as a distraction 6 minutes ago
  • RT @Martina: So the draft dodging lying trump- there were no bone spurs- is now telling trans people- no, we don't want your sacrifice?!? H… 7 minutes ago

%d bloggers like this: