Librarian acknowledgments

I have had the pleasure of working with several scholars over the years on research that has resulted in publications (journal articles, books, reports). A few of those scholars have been gracious enough to acknowledge my help in print — most recently, Andrea Henderson acknowledged my help in designing the survey for the incredibly important report: Dual Career Academic Couples: What Universities Need to Know.

Since most academic libraries and librarians consider their central mission to support the research and teaching of their institution; an acknowledgment in published research is a pretty tangible and important measure of that aspect of a librarian’s performance. I know it is not the only measure, but it is a nice public one, and it is one I think we should “brag” about. I know I would want to know if someone I was considering for a reference librarian job had been acknowledged by scholars in their published works.

So, I think librarians out to publicize their acknowledgments. Libraries could create web pages full of librarian acknowledgments, and individual librarians could add an acknowledgments section to their CV.

I’ve added an “Acknowledgments in published works” section to my own CV, which is now linked on my About page.

3 Responses to “Librarian acknowledgments”


  1. 1 Chris October 1, 2008 at 3:29 pm

    Thanks Merrilee!
    I knew others had spoken about this, but couldn’t remember who or where. Thanks for helping me give credit where credit is due.

    Like

  2. 2 Merrilee October 1, 2008 at 3:27 pm

    This was something that was called out in a symposium we held earlier this year. It was part of Paul Courant’s talk (unfortunately, we only have the MP3, but it’s well worth listening to).

    http://www.oclc.org/programs/events/2008-06-02c.htm

    Like


  1. 1 Shout out to my colleagues « Feral Librarian Trackback on June 19, 2009 at 9:51 am

Leave a Comment

Enter your email address to follow Feral Librarian by email.

Join 8,064 other followers

Follow me on Twitter


