The Maddest Librarians

We have our winners for the March Madness tournament and for the Men’s March Madness tournament!

Although the men’s tournament officially died for me when my beloved Blue Devils lost in the 1st round to the UPS Intramural Team, apparently many of you continued to care. By the end of Round 2, I think 1/2 of us had lost at least 1 of our Final Four picks. Only 3 entries picked Kentucky to win it all, but Sagehen510 won handily. I have it on good authority that Sagehen510 is not an actual librarian, but is married to one — proving that s/he has not only mad hoops-picking skillz, but also excellent taste. Congrats Sagehen — let me know how to get you your T-shirt (my email address is on my About Page).

The HathiTrust bracket came in at the bottom half of the pack, but did beat out the OCLC RLP bracket, which came in last.

The regular tournament was much closer, and for some of us, much more heartbreaking. Seeing my beloved Cardinal walk away from their 5 straight Final Four without a trophy was/is painful. Hard not to love a team that gives us the Nerd City Kids.

Our group had 3 entrants who picked Baylor to win it all, and we actually have a tie for the winners between ESPNTokyo08021990 and Other_Chris, who much too modestly labeled his/her bracket “Largely Random”. ESPN Tokyo and Other_Chris–Congratulations, and let me know how/where to send your T-shirt.

The ARL bracket came in dead last, although I refuse to draw any conclusions about what that means.

Congrats to all, thanks for playing, and big thanks to Gone Reading for the T-shirts!

And now, Go Giants!

2 Responses to “The Maddest Librarians”


  1. 1 Merrilee Proffitt (@MerrileeIAm) April 4, 2012 at 9:46 am

    Am I reading this incorrectly, or did I just barely come in last after you? I entered this saying I knew nothing about basketball, so I’ll rest on my laurels!

    • 2 Chris Bourg April 4, 2012 at 9:53 am

      You are absolutely correct that my bracket barely squeaked into 19th place. Although in my defense, I decided to pick who I wanted to win, rather than who I thought would win (thus an All ACC Final Four).


Leave a Comment

Enter your email address to follow Feral Librarian by email.

Join 2,357 other followers

Follow me on Twitter

  • Flashback Friday - I'm the cute one in the middle. Happy weekend y'all, whatever & however you celebrate. http://t.co/bSGENvbd84 8 hours ago
  • @morganmundum @eosadler Thanks! We were struggling to come up with a name for our new venture ;-). Bastards it is! 10 hours ago
  • Another epic 2 hr convo w @eosadler in which we hatch plans to promote social justice in & thru libraries & technology. 11 hours ago
  • email thread where the guys are trying to one up each other w/ most obscure Star Trek quote. Maybe I'll just buy rulers for all of them 11 hours ago
  • The problem w collaborative space is that I want somewhere that my group can talk, but everyone else is quiet. And I want coffee & snacks 14 hours ago

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,357 other followers

